Extraordinary Attorney Woo” leads the K-drama nominees in Busan International Film Festival’s 4th Asia Contents Awards with three nominations. The fan favorite series is nominated for best content. Joining the list are other outstanding Asian productions including “The Journalist,” “The Pavilion,” “Twisted Strings,” and “Your World in Mine.”

Park Eun-bin is the "Extraordinary Attorney Woo" on Netflix
Park Eun-bin in “Extraordinary Attorney Woo”

Park Eun-bin, who wowed audiences in her role as Woo Young-woo, a rookie lawyer with autism spectrum disorder, is nominated for best actress. Meanwhile, Moon Ji-won, the writer of “Extraordinary Woo” is also nominated for best writer.

Im Si-wan, who starred in the revenge drama “Tracer” is nominated for best actor while his co-star Park Yong-woo gets a nod for best supporting actor. Park Hae-soo is also a nominee for best supporting actor for “Squid Game.”

Im Si-wan in “Tracer”

Battling it out for the New Comer-Actor category are Choi Hyun-wook of “Twenty-Five, Twenty-One” and Dew Jirawat Sutivanichsak of “F4 Thailand.”

The Asia Contents Awards has included new categories this year including Best Asian Documentary, Best Supporting Actor and Actress, and Best Creator. GMA Network’s “The Atom Araullo Specials: Young Arms” is nominated for Best Asian Documentary. The documentary about the plight of children working amid the COVID-19 pandemic bagged the gold medal at the 2022 New York Festivals.

The Asia Contents Awards 2022 recognizes outstanding TV, OTT, and online content from Asia. The awarding ceremony will be held on October 8, 2022 at the BIFF Theater in Busan, South Korea with Jung Hae-in and Miss Korea 2019 Kim Sae-yeon as ceremony hosts. The ACA 2022 will be streamed live, beginning at 16:30 (KST), via the Busan International Film Festival’s official YouTube channel, NAVER NOW, and Japan’s PIA LIVE STREAM.

Here is the complete list of nominees and awardees:

Best Content
“Extraordinary Attorney Woo” (Astory)
“The Journalist” (Netflix)
“The Pavillion” (iQIYI Dongchun Film)
“Twisted Strings” (Sun Lok Productions)
“Your World in Mine” (Mediacorp Pte Ltd)

Best Asian Animation
“The Luoyang” (iQIYI)
“The Orbital Children” (Production plus h)
“The Pinkfong Company” (The Pinkfong Company)

Best Asian Documentary
“The Atom Araullo Specials: Young Arms (GMA Network)
“Indian Predator: The Butcher of Delhi” (Netflix)
“Interview with North Korean Spy” (Asian Boss)
“One Day of Japanese Host Club” (TV Asahi Production)

Technical Achievement Award
“Hurts Like Hell” (Netflix)
“The Orbital Children” (Production plus h)
“Squid Game” (Siren Pictures)
“TOKYO MER: Mobile Emergency Room” (Tokyo Broadcasting System Television Inc)

Best Actress
Ma Sichun (“Crack of Dawn”)
Park Eun-bin (“Extraordinary Attorney Woo”)
Yonekura Ryoko (“The Journalist”)
Liang Yongqi (“The Parents League”)
Zhanar Aizhanova (“A Perfect Bride”)

Best Actor
Png Pierre (“This Land is Mine”)
Dan Yihong (“The Pavilion”)
Suzuki Ryohei (“TOKYO MER: Mobile Emergency Room”)
Im Si-wan (“Tracer”)
Lee Kangsheng (“Twisted Strings”)

Best Writer
Moon Ji-won (“Extraordinary Attorney Woo”)
Oishi Sizuka (“If I’d kissed her”)
Lau Benny (“The Parents League”)
Wang Shiaoshuai, Yang Yishu (“The Pavilion”)
Jung Bohun (“Racket Boys”)

Best Supporting Actress
Nakamura Anne (“DCU: Deep Crime Unit”)
Wu Yue (“The Pavilion”)
Sora Ma (“This Land is Mine”)
Nakajo Ayami (“TOKYO MER: Mobile Emergency Room”)
Buffy Chen (“Twisted Strings”)

Best Supporting Actor
Vithaya Pansringarm (“Hurts Like Hell”)
Sham Kaki (“In Geek We Trust”)
Zu Feng (“The Pavilion”)
Park Hae-soo (“Squid Game”)
Park Yong-woo (“Tracer”)

New Comer-Actress
Ishii Anna (“Fishbowl Wives”)
Bao Shang En (“Love Behind the Melody”)
Mira (“The Pavilion”)
Buffy Chen (“Twisted Strings”)

New Comer-Actor
Dew Jirawat Sutivanichsak (“F4 Thailand”)
Ling Man Lung (“In Geek We Trust”)
Yokohama Ryusei (“The Journalist”)
Choi Hyun-jin (“The King of Pigs”)
Choi Hyun-wook (“Twenty-Five, Twenty-One”)

Best Creator
“Dee’s Talk” (Titan Creative Entertainment)
“Hurts Like Hell” (Netflix)
“One Day of Japanese Host Club” (TV Asahi Production)
“The Pinkfong Company” (The Pinkfong Company)
“Super Sketch Show” (MEWE)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Tatsuo Kawamura (K Dash Co., LTD)
Achievement Award: Song Byeong-joon (Korea Drama Production Association
ACA Excellence Award: Fan Bingbing
ACA Rising Star: Ling Man Lung (“In Geek We Trust”), Kim Min-ha (“Pachinko”)

Myla writes news stories for a living and watches K-dramas for leisure. She enjoys doing both for Hallyudorama.

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *